- About Us
- Practice Resources
- Pay Your Dues
The Florida Board of Medicine and the Florida Board of Osteopathic Medicine are charged with determining the number of continuing medical education (CME) hours required for licensure and re-licensure in Florida. Some CME hours are mandatory topics that must be completed during each two year licensure term. Mandatory topics include Prevention of Medical Errors, Domestic Violence and HIV/AIDS.
Half of Florida allopathic licenses (MD) expire January 31st of every even numbered year and the other half expire January 31st of every odd numbered year.
Licensed medical doctors are renewed by the department in two groups:
Group 1 – current license will expire at midnight, Eastern Time, January 31, 2016
Group 2 – current license will expire at midnight, Eastern Time, January 31, 2017
All physicians initially licensed within the biennium are exempt from the CME requirements for renewal except:
• Two (2) hours of prevention of medical errors• One (1) hour of HIV/AIDS
All osteopathic licenses (DO) expire March 31st of every even numbered year. Current license expire at midnight, Eastern Time, on March 31, 2018.
MD Licensure Renewal (38 general CME hours)
NOTE: The Domestic Violence course must be approved by any state or federal government agency, or nationally affiliated professional association, or any provider of Category I or II American Medical Association Continuing Education. Home study courses approved by one of these entities are acceptable. The Prevention of Medical Error course must be approved by any state or federal government agency, or nationally affiliated professional association, or any provider of Category I or II American Medical Association Continuing Education. One hour of a two hour course which is provided by a facility licensed under Chapter 395, Florida Statutes, for its employees may be used to partially meet this requirement.
Exceptions: There are exemptions available for military, volunteer health services, being a member of the Florida Legislature. To see if you qualify for an exemption, click here.
DO Licensure Renewal
Each physician must complete a total of 40 credit hours of CME, 20 of which must be AOA Category 1-A. Included in the 40 hours, there are five mandatory hours required for Florida re-licensure (each period) and cannot be taken by correspondence. The following must be LIVE, PARTICIPATORY credits:
- 2 hours of Prevention of Medical Errors
In addition to the above five hours, licensees are required to take two hours of Domestic Violence every third renewal period. This may be taken by correspondence.
Requirements for First Time Renewal:
Board Rule Approved Providers:
Other Methods of Obtaining Continuing Edication per Biennium: Please see rule 64B15-13, F.A.C. for additional methods for obtaining CME credit
Converting to a Limited License
If you are a physician considering retirement, but are not ready to give up the practice of medicine, you may be questioning your options. Placing your license in retirement status prohibits you from practicing medicine in any form, but there is another option. Physicians have the opportunity to convert their full medical license to a limited license, in order to practice on a volunteer basis. Physicians with limited licenses who are working without compensation are not required to pay renewal fees. Limited licenses, however, are restricted to areas of critical need. A list of approved Area of Critical Need facilities can be found on our website.
To convert a full medical license to a limited license for the purpose of volunteering, physicians must do the following:
The cost for converting a full medical license to a limited license for the purpose of volunteering will be waived, unless the license is delinquent, in which case the physician must pay a fee of $25. More information about limited licenses can be found in s. 458.317, F.S.Limited License information last updated by Florida Board of Medicine on February 24, 2014